refurnished, refurbished, reupholstered furniture

I have to preface this post by first saying that in no way am I or my husband experts in any of these topics so please take the following lightly. I don’t know the right terminology to use in regards to the subjects, so don’t judge me either when I say things like “We ripped the foamy thing off of the round part,” or “We stapled the doodad to the backside of the other thinger.” I don’t know what I am talking about.

Sure we have watched our share of HGTV…..okay a lot of it…..We’ve watched American Pickers and Pawn Stars, and enough of the DIY networks shows to single handedly keep them in business. At this point we are probably sounding like every other couple in america sitting next to eachother on a Sunday night thinking “Hey, we can do that too, right? How hard can it be?”

My recent love for blog wondering (that sounds better than stalking doesn’t it?) and an ever present tight budget has also let to the recent push to “do it ourselves” and get our hands a little dirty. I have come across the most fabulous furniture, wall art, and projects that use old, every day materials to create something stunning, and my husband has had the itch to get his hands on some kind of project…any kind of project.

So this evening we took a trip to a local thrift store just to get some ideas and left with not one, not two, but three chairs and some window shutters. The chairs are envisioned to be awesome and you’ll find out about the shutters later, but they are as equally promising.

For those of you who don’t really have a sense for who my husband is yet, when he gets an idea in his head he is about as patient as a child on Christmas morning. So after a few more stops for some absolutely necessary supplies and tools, we were on our way home with our new hobby.

Here’s an idea of what we are starting with:

 I know, sooo ugly right? Trust me though, we have a vision…I hope.

So I let my husband so all the fun stuff like removing the seat, tearing out the cushions, ripping out the staples….

Sanding off the old finish…he loved every moment of it. No really, he did!

So the plan is to sand the rest of it, give it a good prime and paint, and some new life to the old cushions. I am anxious to see where this goes!

Stay tuned for the final finishes of our first attempt and check back for our attempts at the others!

Leave a Reply

